Precious Thing

Author(s): Colette McBeth

Fiction - Crime & Thriller

Menacing, suspenseful and utterly compelling, this is a stunning debut novel for fans of BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP and GONE GIRL that throws the spotlight on the fine line between love and hate, and leaves you wondering just who you trust. Remember the person you sat next to on your first day at school? Still your best friend? Or disappeared from your life for good? Some friendships fizzle out. Rachel and Clara promised theirs would last for ever. They met when Rachel was the new girl in class and Clara was the friend everyone wanted. Instantly, they fell under one another's spell and nothing would be the same again. Now in their late twenties Rachel has the TV career, the flat and the boyfriend, while Clara's life is spiralling further out of control. Yet despite everything, they remain inextricably bound. Then Clara vanishes. Is it abduction, suicide or something else altogether? Imagine discovering something about your oldest friend that forces you to question everything you've shared together. The truth is always there. But only if you choose to see it.

$27.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

This is a page-turner and no mistake. Dark, intriguing, and full of unexpected twists. -- Lynn Shepherd, author of Tom-All-Alone's and A Treacherous Likeness The plot of Precious Thing is like a Catherine wheel, spinning faster and faster as it approaches its final twist, and there's quite a few to enjoy before you get there. It is a fine debut from Colette McBeth. Roll on her next. -- Clio Gray A brilliant, chilling debut. Psychopathy has never seemed so attractive. -- Ali Knight, author of Wink Murder An excellent debut, well-written, gripping and tense which skillfully weaves an unfolding nightmare with a dark past. The world of news journalism is expertly handled as is the exploration of the intense female friendship at the heart of the story. -- Cath Staincliffe, author of Sal Kilkenny Mysteries and Scott & Bailey novels Keep your eyes peeled this summer for an astonishing new talent in the form of hack-turned-novelist Colette McBeth... Gone Girl but with a Brit voice. -- David Mark, author of Dark Winter

Colette McBeth was a BBC TV News Correspondent for ten years. She lives in West London with her husband and three young children. She attended the Faber Academy Novel WRiting Course in 2011. PRECIOUS THING is her first novel.

General Fields

  • : 9781472205940
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Review
  • : June 2013
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 320
  • : 320
  • : Colette McBeth
  • : Colette McBeth
  • : 1
  • : 1
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback