The Au Pair

Author(s): Emma Rous

Fiction - General

A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.


'Entrancing, compelling, atmospheric, reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier. A beautiful read that delivers a shocking and satisfying ending' Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs Parrish


Seraphine Mayes and her brother Danny are known as the summer-born Summerbournes: the first set of summer twins to be born at Summerbourne House. But on the day they were born their mother threw herself to her death, their au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark-cloaked figures and a stolen baby.


Now twenty-five, and mourning the recent death of her father, Seraphine uncovers a family photograph taken on the day the twins were born featuring both parents posing with just one baby. Seraphine soon becomes fixated with the notion that she and Danny might not be twins after all, that she wasn't the baby born that day and that there was more to her mother's death than she has ever been told...


Why did their beloved au pair flee that day?
Where is she now?
Does she hold the key to what really happened?


'Don't just pick up and read Emma Rous' The Au Pair, dive into it and get washed away with it' A bookseller


'This will keep you turning those pages. The characters are still playing on my mind' Jane Corry, bestselling author of My Husband's Wife


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780349419091
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Piatkus Books
  • : November 2018
  • : ---length:- '23.4'width:- '15.3'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 823.92
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback
  • : 416
  • : 416
  • : Emma Rous
  • : Emma Rous
  • : 823.92