The Destroyers

Author(s): Christopher Bollen

Fiction - General

When Charlie and I were young, we played a game called Destroyers ...We were sharpening our instincts, jettisoning attachments. We were honing strategies for survival ...Ian Bledsoe is on the run, broke and humiliated, fleeing the emotional and financial fallout of his father's death. His childhood friend Charlie - rich, exuberant and basking in life on the Greek island of Patmos - is his last hope. At first, Patmos is like a dream - sun-soaked days on Charlie's yacht and the reappearance of a girlfriend from Ian's past - and Charlie readily offers the lifeline he desperately needs. But, like Charlie himself, this beautiful island conceals a darkness beneath. When he vanishes leaving behind his murky business affairs, Ian finds himself caught in a terrifying labyrinth of deceits. As boys, the pair played a game called Destroyers - a game, he now realizes, they may never have stopped playing. 


Expansive, vivid and suspenseful, in the vein of Donna Tartt's The Goldfinch, The Destroyers is a mesmerizing drama of power and fate, fathers and sons, self-invention and self-deception.

$32.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'The Destroyers is a smart, sophisticated literary thriller; for all its originality, it invokes the shades of Lawrence Durrell and Graham Greene' – Jay McInerney, author of Bright, Precious Days


'Equal parts Graham Greene, Patricia Highsmith and F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Destroyers is at once lyrical and suspenseful, thoughtful and riveting' – Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to You


'Superb, a tightly woven and fast-moving narrative set in beautifully crafted prose. A read-all-night book' – Alan Furst, author of The Foreign Correspondent

'The Destroyers is a smart, sophisticated literary thriller; for all its originality, it invokes the shades of Lawrence Durrell and Graham Greene' -- Jay McInerney, author of Bright, Precious Days 'Equal parts Graham Greene, Patricia Highsmith and F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Destroyers is at once lyrical and suspenseful, thoughtful and riveting' -- Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to You 'Superb, a tightly woven and fast-moving narrative set in beautifully crafted prose. A read-all-night book' -- Alan Furst, author of The Foreign Correspondent 'Possessed of cold-blooded electricity and a beguiling elegance ... A propulsive, hypnotic portrait of rot at paradise's heart and of the sprawling, inescapable tendrils of class and avarice' -- Sophie McManus, author of The Unfortunates 'Bollen manages to create a novel that is equal parts literary and thrilling. His beautiful sentences linger, and each of his characters have rich, complicated pasts that unfold over time... A cinematic and insightful reflection on wealth and the horrendous things it can drive people to do, even to the ones they love.' Publishers Weekly 'An eminently worthy heir to Patricia Highsmith. At once gritty, sandy, and silky - good reading for the beach or a yacht, too.' Kirkus 'Atmospheric ... A slow-building, literary motorbike ride down steep Greek hillsides... The writing is sharp, languid, and lovely, and the first-person point of view is a narrowly focused beam that eventually grows to encompass the entirety of the island.' Library Journal 'Intoxicating' Booklist

Christopher Bollen is a writer who lives in New York City. He regularly writes about art, literature, and culture. He is the author of Lightning People and Orient and is currently the Editor at Large at Interview Magazine.

General Fields

  • : 9781471136191
  • : Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • : Scribner UK
  • : March 2017
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Export ed
  • : Export ed
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback
  • : 512
  • : 512
  • : Christopher Bollen
  • : Christopher Bollen
  • : en
  • : en